The current OUSSG website has moved!! Please CLICK HERE for the new site.
Oxford University Strategic Studies Group (OUSSG)
Menu Content/Inhalt
Home arrow Hilary 2006
Hilary 2006 PDF Print E-mail

A PDF of our printed Termcard can be found here.

        First Week

                  Tuesday, 17 January, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
The Al Saud and the Future of Saudi Arabia
Senior Adviser, Capital Advisory Group, Riyadh;
former British Defence Attaché in Saudi Arabia and Yemen (1975-1979);
and author of The Al Saud, Ruling Family of Saudi Arabia


        Second Week

Tuesday, 24 January, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College
Speaker TBD


        Third Week

Tuesday, 31 January, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
Regulating the Private Security Industry
Research Associate, Oxford Leverhulme Programme
on the Changing Character of War 


       Fourth Week

Tuesday, 7 February, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
The Evolution of Insurgency
Colonel Thomas X. Hammes, USMC (Ret)
Former Senior Military Fellow, Institute for National Strategic Studies,
National Defense University;
and author of The Sling and The Stone: On War in the Twenty-First Century 


       Fifth Week

Tuesday, 14 February, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
China's Security Policy through a Keyhole: Taiwan
Louis Cha Senior Research Fellow in Modern Chinese Studies;
and Director, The Pluscarden Programme for the Study of
Global Terrrorism and Intelligence, St Antony's College 


        Sixth Week

Tuesday, 21 February, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
Intelligence Analysis Comes Out of the Cold--the post-Butler World
Mr. John Tolson
Head of Strategic Futures & Analysis Development, Ministry of Defence


       Seventh Week

Tuesday, 28 February, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
Maritime Natural Disaster Response:
Towards a Coordinated International Support Strategy
Captain Graham Peach, RN
Senior Hudson Fellow, St Antony’s College


       Eighth Week

Tuesday, 7 March, 8:30pm in the Old Library, All Souls College 
Future EU Enlargement -- Western Balkans at the Doorstep of the EU
H.E. Mr Iztok Mirošič
Ambassador of the Republic of Slovenia to the United Kingdom;
and Permanent Representative to the International Maritime Organization

Last Updated ( Friday, 30 October 2009 )
< Prev   Next >



Past Speakers

Sir Crispin Tickell
MG Jonathan Bailey
Sir Lawrence Freedman
Julia Cleves
Angela Wilkinson
Elizabeth Teague
Capt. Thomas Crompton
Col (Ret) Brian Lees
Dr. Sarah Percy
Col Thomas Hammes
Dr. Steve Tsang
John Tolson
Capt Graham Peach
H.E. Iztok Mirošič
Rear Admiral C.J. Parry, CBE
Marc Trachtenberg
Dipesh Shah
Colonel Christopher Langton
Glen Segell
Christopher Waters
Rear Admiral Hubert Hass
Professor Martin Shaw
Professor Paul Collier
Dr. Lee Willett
Sir Ivor Roberts
Lieutenant General Sir John Kiszely, KCB MC
Professor Shai Feldman
Rear Admiral Rakesh Chopra, VSM, PhD
Sir Jeremy Greenstock GCMG
Mr Alex Vines
Mr Andy Bearpark, CBE
Dr Wendy Pullan
Sir Michael Aaronson, CBE
Professor Theo Farrell
Mr Ben Hammersley
Sir Hilary Synnott KCMG
Mr Alfred Rolington
Mr Rahul Roy-Chaudhury
Professor Hew Strachan
Col. H.R. McMaster
Dr Alia Brahimi
Ms Oksana Antonenko
Professor Rob Singh
Dr Antonio Giustozzi
Professor Anatol Lieven
Mr David Frost, CMG
Dr John Nagl
Ms Shiloh Fetzek
Lt Col (retd) Jim Storr
Dr Kausik Roy
Ambassador Jacek Bylica
Dr Stephen D. Biddle
Colonel Neal J. Rappaport
Ms Jennifer Cole
Mr Stephen Grey
Dr Kanti Bajpai
Colonel M.V.'Coyote' Smith
Carolyn Hayman OBE
Dr Knox Chitiyo
Captain Rupert Hollins
Bjoern H. Seibert
Professor Theo Farrell
Col. Richard Iron
Sir Rodric Braithwaite GCMG
Professor Anatol Lieven
Felix Kuehn
Alex Strick van Linschoten
Dr Deborah Goodwin
Professor James Gow
Mr Nik Gowing
Major Andrew Godefroy, PhD
Mr Abbie Aryan
Professor Richard Ned Lebow
Professor Joseph S Nye, Jr
Professor Beatrice Heuser
Brigadier John Donnelly OBE
Professor Scott Lucas
Commodore Tom Karsten RN
Dr Andrew Dorman
Sir Kevin Tebbit KCB CMG
Ms Margaret Gilmore
Commander Simon Atkinson RN
Dr Patrick Porter
Mr Tim Cooper
Lieutenant General Sir Graeme Lamb (Retd)
Lieutenant Colonel Williams (Retd)
Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope
Mr Paul Johnston
Professor Anthony King
Dr Steve Tsang
Lieutenant Colonel Richard Morales, US Army
Professor Itamar Rabinovich
Professor Hew Strachan
Dr Timo Noetzel
Rt Hon The Baroness Neville-Jones DCMG PC
Brigadier General Meir Elran (Retd)
Professor Patricia Longstaff
Professor Frederick Hitz
Dr Stuart Croft
Professor Theo Farrell
Dr Rudra Chaudhuri
Lord Patten
Mr Fabrice Pothier
Dr Richard Freer
Dr Barbara Stephenson
Dr Robert Johnson
Mr Michael Crawford
Sir Ivor Roberts
Mr Jack Fairweather
Mr Alessandro Marrone
Mr Eteinne de Durand
Mr Mark Sedwill CMG, FRGS
Major General Buster Howes, OBE
Professor Christopher Andrew
designed by