The current OUSSG website has moved!! Please CLICK HERE for the new site.
Oxford University Strategic Studies Group (OUSSG)
Menu Content/Inhalt
Home arrow OUSSG History
History PDF Print E-mail

Here you will find information on the history of the Oxford University Strategic Study Group. For information on speakers the Group has hosted, please look at the speaker information pages or click on one of the Termcards to the left.

Please note that information on past speakers does not list (or include biographical material for) all those who have given a talk since records began to be held on this site in Michaelmas 2005, only entries provided or verified by the speakers at the time they visited OUSSG.

This page is still under development - further information on the history of the group is to be added in due course.

Past OUSSG Executives

OUSSG is currently compiling a list of its former Presidents (below). Research for this is ongoing; if you would like to provide information for a year not yet detailed or a correction, please get in touch with the webmaster. Thanks to former Presidents Dr John Nagl, Dr Carter Malkasian, Jay Jakub and Samuel Evans, and former Senior Member Professor Robert O'Neill for their assistance.

Senior Members:

2001 - Professor Hew Strachan
1987-01 - Professor Robert O'Neill
1982-87 - Professor Adam Roberts
(dates to be confirmed)
1968-82 - Professor Sir Michael Howard
(dates to be confirmed)


A Senior Member's perspective
by Professor Robert O'Neill, written shortly after the 40th anniversary of OUSSG's founding.


2010-11 - David Blagden
2009-10 - Hila Levy
2008-09 - Robert Nelson
2007-08 - Andrea Baumann
2006-07 - Sheena Chestnut
2005-06 - Eric Twerdahl
2004-05 - Samuel Evans
2003-04 - Samuel Evans
2002-05 - Brian Luke Anderson
2001-02 - Alex Baxter (to be confirmed)
2000-01 - Michael Murphy
1999-00 - Carter Malkasian
1998-99 - Josefine Wallat
1997-98 - Nick Redman
1996-97 - John Nagl
1995-96 - Jay Jakub
1994-95 - Philip Barton (tbc)

Information from 1990-1994 has yet to be retrieved.

1989-90 - Heidi Avery
1988-89 - Rob Radtke

Information prior to 1988 has yet to be retrieved.

Last Updated ( Monday, 14 March 2011 )



Past Speakers

Sir Crispin Tickell
MG Jonathan Bailey
Sir Lawrence Freedman
Julia Cleves
Angela Wilkinson
Elizabeth Teague
Capt. Thomas Crompton
Col (Ret) Brian Lees
Dr. Sarah Percy
Col Thomas Hammes
Dr. Steve Tsang
John Tolson
Capt Graham Peach
H.E. Iztok Mirošič
Rear Admiral C.J. Parry, CBE
Marc Trachtenberg
Dipesh Shah
Colonel Christopher Langton
Glen Segell
Christopher Waters
Rear Admiral Hubert Hass
Professor Martin Shaw
Professor Paul Collier
Dr. Lee Willett
Sir Ivor Roberts
Lieutenant General Sir John Kiszely, KCB MC
Professor Shai Feldman
Rear Admiral Rakesh Chopra, VSM, PhD
Sir Jeremy Greenstock GCMG
Mr Alex Vines
Mr Andy Bearpark, CBE
Dr Wendy Pullan
Sir Michael Aaronson, CBE
Professor Theo Farrell
Mr Ben Hammersley
Sir Hilary Synnott KCMG
Mr Alfred Rolington
Mr Rahul Roy-Chaudhury
Professor Hew Strachan
Col. H.R. McMaster
Dr Alia Brahimi
Ms Oksana Antonenko
Professor Rob Singh
Dr Antonio Giustozzi
Professor Anatol Lieven
Mr David Frost, CMG
Dr John Nagl
Ms Shiloh Fetzek
Lt Col (retd) Jim Storr
Dr Kausik Roy
Ambassador Jacek Bylica
Dr Stephen D. Biddle
Colonel Neal J. Rappaport
Ms Jennifer Cole
Mr Stephen Grey
Dr Kanti Bajpai
Colonel M.V.'Coyote' Smith
Carolyn Hayman OBE
Dr Knox Chitiyo
Captain Rupert Hollins
Bjoern H. Seibert
Professor Theo Farrell
Col. Richard Iron
Sir Rodric Braithwaite GCMG
Professor Anatol Lieven
Felix Kuehn
Alex Strick van Linschoten
Dr Deborah Goodwin
Professor James Gow
Mr Nik Gowing
Major Andrew Godefroy, PhD
Mr Abbie Aryan
Professor Richard Ned Lebow
Professor Joseph S Nye, Jr
Professor Beatrice Heuser
Brigadier John Donnelly OBE
Professor Scott Lucas
Commodore Tom Karsten RN
Dr Andrew Dorman
Sir Kevin Tebbit KCB CMG
Ms Margaret Gilmore
Commander Simon Atkinson RN
Dr Patrick Porter
Mr Tim Cooper
Lieutenant General Sir Graeme Lamb (Retd)
Lieutenant Colonel Williams (Retd)
Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope
Mr Paul Johnston
Professor Anthony King
Dr Steve Tsang
Lieutenant Colonel Richard Morales, US Army
Professor Itamar Rabinovich
Professor Hew Strachan
Dr Timo Noetzel
Rt Hon The Baroness Neville-Jones DCMG PC
Brigadier General Meir Elran (Retd)
Professor Patricia Longstaff
Professor Frederick Hitz
Dr Stuart Croft
Professor Theo Farrell
Dr Rudra Chaudhuri
Lord Patten
Mr Fabrice Pothier
Dr Richard Freer
Dr Barbara Stephenson
Dr Robert Johnson
Mr Michael Crawford
Sir Ivor Roberts
Mr Jack Fairweather
Mr Alessandro Marrone
Mr Eteinne de Durand
Mr Mark Sedwill CMG, FRGS
Major General Buster Howes, OBE
Professor Christopher Andrew
designed by